Twenty-Two Road Projects in Dorchester County

Dorchester County Sales Tax Transportation Authority (DCTA) Members
Mike Murphree, Chairman
Marshall Murdaugh,
Vice Chairman
Ron Brantley
Stephen Grant
Ralph James
Will Limehouse
Roy Strickland

Due to voter approval of the one-cent sales tax, the Dorchester County Sales Tax Transportation Authority (DCTA) is implementing a program that includes 22 road improvement projects. The program is funded by $125 million from the one-cent sales tax and the remainder provided by the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT), the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), private contributors, and other sources.

Projects include constructing new roadways, widening existing major thoroughfares, paving 260 miles of dirt roads, improving intersections, resurfacing streets, and repairing sidewalks. Look for signs stating "Your One-Cent Sales Tax at Work" displayed at project locations.


1) DCTA meets on the second Monday of each month in the Dorchester County Council Chambers in Summerville at 7:00 p.m. 
Meeting Schedule

2) US 78 Phase 3 Environmental Assessment documents are now available for review:

Hard copies of these Environmental Assessment documents are available for public review at the Dorchester County Human Services Building, 500 N. Main Street, Summerville, SC 29483. Please call (843) 832-0043 in advance for access to them.

Representatives from SCDOT, DCTA, and Dorchester County signed an Intergovernmental Agreement on June 29, 2006. This agreement enables the DCTA to use local money generated by the sales tax program to fund transportation improvements on State maintained roadways.

Signing the agreement are (seated from left): SCDOT State Highway Engineer Tony Chapman, SCDOT Director of Finance and Administration Morgan Denny, Dorchester County Administrator Jason Ward, and DCTA Chairman Marshall Murdaugh. Watching the signing ceremony are (standing from left): Donnie Dukes, SCDOT Commissioner Robert W. Harrell Sr., Robert Clark, SCDOT Commissioner Marvin Stevenson, Tony Fallaw, Emmett Davis, Albert Heatley, Steve Ikerd, Mark Pilgrim, David Kinard, Robert Pratt, Wallace Ackerman, Jerry Timmons, and Federal Highway Administration SC Division Administrator Bob Lee.



Click on the project names below or corresponding numbered sites on the map for detailed project descriptions, maps, and photos.

Projects in Design
8) Orangeburg Road - Phase 3
18) Old Fort Road
Projects under Construction
14) Pave County-Owned Dirt Roads
14) Pave State-Owned Dirt Roads
20) Bacons Bridge Road
Completed Projects
2) US Route 78 - Phase 1
3) Dorchester Road
4) US Route 178
8) Orangeburg Road - Phases 1 & 2